Home » Blog » General » What are the different levels of CPR certification training?

What are the different levels of CPR certification training?

Last Updated on: March 6, 2024

Did you know that high-quality CPR has a better prognosis, with 25.5% of patients surviving to hospital discharge? As we are familiar, Cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) qualification is essential for a life-saving skill, but have you ever explored the different levels of CPR certifications? Certification starts with the basics of CPR for the masses through different courses crafted for healthcare providers. As a parent worried about your child, as a worker who is committed to occupational health and safety, or as a medical practitioner, here is a guide that will help you understand CPR training levels and empower you to handle critical events.


Why are the different levels of first aid and CPR crucial?

The community must have a strong understanding of first aid/CPR certification level that recognizes the crucial significance of all diversity. Some recent studies, including the National Institutes of Health (NIH’s) extensive report, emphasize the complexity of providing appropriate first aid to specific settings. The findings of this thorough research show that different emergencies require different skills, and this calls for the development of tailor-made training courses. Learn more about the importance of first aid and CPR:


  • Tailored Expertise: The components provided in each level of First Aid/CPR training suit specific roles and responsibilities. As an illustration, it can be simple CPR lessons for common people or complicated training for medical specialists who treat multifaceted medical emergencies. With this tailored expertise, respondents can adequately cater to the specific medical needs.


  • Workplace Safety Compliance: Several professionals require employees to have first-aid CPR-level training. This helps improve workplace safety while adhering to industry regulations. This further reduces the time needed during emergencies and protects both workers and employers from the unwanted effects of being unprepared.


  • Increased Confidence and Efficacy: Different stages in first aid and CPR certifications enable one to understand such medical emergencies better and react appropriately. This newfound knowledge results in improved confidence among respondents, thus providing immediate responses to urgent matters. This confidence, along with newly acquired skills, is a crucial factor in making any type of emergence response activity effective.


Read More: https://cco1dev.wpenginepowered.com/explore-the-world-of-self-paced-learning-with-cpr-online-courses/


What Are the Different Levels of CPR Training?

There are several levels of CPR training and each focuses on particular professional aspects as well as circumstances. This is how various standardized programs ensure that people have the expert knowledge necessary to perform their roles in the workplace, caretaking, teaching institutions, and healthcare facilities


One must understand the different CPR certifications to select an appropriate training regimen that will be consistent with one’s duties in an emergency. The following is a breakdown of four different CPR levels, with an emphasis on the abilities required for each certificate.


  1. CPR Level A—Workplace and Lay Rescuer: CPR Level A aims at workplace settings and lay rescuers. It provides training on basic CPR procedures for adults, automated external defibrillator (AED) operation, and first aid response to adult airway obstructions, both conscious and unconscious.
  2. CPR Level B: Child Care Workers: Specifically tailored for the use of childcare workers, CPR Level B has pediatrics as its major concern. The participants learn how to perform CPR on infants and children using AEDs that are specifically designed for pediatric cases and how to handle choking in young people.
  3. CPR Level C: CPR Level C offers complete coursework for people operating in different places, such as offices, schools, and community institutions. Also included is how to perform CPR on adults, children, and infants using the AED, plus managing choking episodes at all ages.
  4. CPR Level BLS (Basic Life Support): BLS is therefore an upgraded form of CPR training required by medical practitioners within the clinical setting. The program deals with high-acuity situations that focus on the importance of working together as a team, communicating effectively, and performing adult, pediatric, and neonatal advanced cardiac life support. These include BLS certification, which is crucial for healthcare practitioners who work in emergency rooms, ICUs, and other medical settings.

Read More: https://cco1dev.wpenginepowered.com/the-ultimate-guide-to-cpr-certification-for-non-medical-professionals/

Is BLS the same as CPR level C?

No, BLS (basic life support) is not the same as CPR level C. Though both BLS and CPR level C focus on different audiences, they deal with similar issues in different forms.


BLS provides advanced CPR training aimed at specialized medical staff, including doctors, nurses, paramedics, etc. In essence, other than the standardized CPR training, BLS incorporates teamwork, special equipment, advanced life support, and airway management, among many others, in the case of an emergency. The employees mostly need BLS in health settings, including hospitals, clinics, or responding to emergencies.


Unlike CPR Level A, Level C is for people who are not in healthcare fields, such as teachers and parents. This includes the basic CPR procedures for adults, children, and infants, how to use an AED, and taking care of a person who is being choked.



Understanding the different levels and types of CPR certification training is crucial for effective emergency response. The development of tailored life-support programs caters to distinct circumstances. This includes CPR training programs for the general public and advanced life support practices for health care workers. These differences contribute significantly to ensuring that the community is alert and responsive, thereby having a positive outcome in various emergencies. Selecting the right certification level that matches with what respondents know positively impacts the response time.